Brooke WestonBW LogoPeter KirkbrideCoomb Road, Great Oakley, Corby, Northamptonshire NN18 8LA t 01536 396366 f 01536 396867

Brooke Weston

Sign In

News Item

Prize Giving 2013

Prize Giving 2013
Former Red Arrows pilot Graham Duff with Principal Miss Stringer.
Prize Giving 2013
Jack Crane was named HSBC Business Student of the Year.
Prize Giving 2013
Joe Tyler was given the Sports Person of the Year by Cllr Dady.
Prize Giving 2013
Jonah Bentley was presented with the Jack Cheatley Memorial Award.
Prize Giving 2013
Rajmund Baranyi received The Principal's Award.
Prize Giving 2013
George Robinson received the OCR Outstanding Student Award and a laptop.
Prize Giving 2013
Lorna Leandro was presented with The Founders' Award by Mr de Capell Brooke.
Friday 20th September 2013 by C. Freeman

Former Red Arrows pilot Graham Duff was guest of honour at this Year’s Prize Giving when the achievements of hundreds of students were celebrated. Principal Miss Stringer welcomed parents, students and guests including governors and trustees. The evening began with a video ‘Review of the Year’ that highlighted the range of activities undertaken this academic year.

Mr Duff introduced his talk with a video of the Red Arrows then gave an inspirational talk to students about the attitude and behaviour needed to achieve their goals.

Prizes were handed out to lower school students and musical interludes were provided by Vicki Louise Sherwin who sang Somewhere from West Side Story and The Brooke Weston Flute Group who performed a rendition of Coldplay’s Paradise.

Student of the Year Awards were given to Jakub Nowak, Julienne Padayachy and Joshua Vanni of Years 7, 8 and 9 respectively while Leanne Tough received the accolade for Year 10 alongside Eliot Beeby from Year 12.

Year 11 GCSE Awards went to 24 students who had all achieved nine or more A* or A grades in their GCSEs while Year 13 A Level and Vocational Awards went to a further 20 students, who had all received the equivalent of three A grade passes. Another eight Sixth Formers received the BA Crest Gold Awards for their work on the Engineering Education Scheme.

Chair of Governors Phil Harris Bridge spoke about the goal of continual improvement that is shared by the Governors and Senior Management Team at Brooke Weston. He said: ‘In particular this year we are enormously proud of the stunning A Level results which are the best in the Academy’s 22 year history with a 100% pass rate in all subjects. This puts Brooke Weston in that very special group of the very best performing schools in the country.’ He also paid tribute to Sir Peter Simpson, the former CEO of the Brooke Weston Trust who retired this summer: ‘He has had an enormous influence on the local, regional and national stage to improve educational outcomes for students.’

Individual prizes were handed out by guests including the Deputy Mayor of Corby, Cllr Anthony Dady, Mr Andrew Prigmore of HSBC and Ms Mara Bogdanovic of OCR.

Jack Crane won HSBC Business Student of the Year. Tennis player Joe Tyler was named Sports Person of the Year. The Jack Cheatley Memorial Award was given to Jonah Bentley while the Principal’s Award went to Rajmund Baranyi. George Robinson was named OCR Outstanding Student of the Year and given a laptop while the Founders’ Award was presented to Lorna Leandro by Mr Alexander de Capell Brooke.

Congratulations to all those who were awarded prizes and thank you to the audience, organisers, Parents in Partnership and technical staff that made Prize Giving 2013 such a success.

Copyright © 2007 - 2018, Brooke Weston Academy. All rights reserved.
Copyright © 2007 - 2018, Brooke Weston Academy. All rights reserved.
Company No. 2400784.
Brooke Weston Academy
Coomb Road, Great Oakley, Corby, Northants. NN18 8LA
t 01536 396366 / f 01536 396867 / e enquiries